DWI Defense Services in San Antonio, Texas
What Is DWI?
DWI stands for driving while intoxicated. Every state has different laws when it comes to DWI charges. However, the consequences for DWIs can be severe. DUIs and DWIs tend to carry heavy penalties. If you are facing a DWI, the courts will consider several things. They will want to know what your BAC — or blood alcohol content — is as well as any previous charges you have. If you are facing a DWI, don’t hesitate to give us a call.
What Does It Mean to Be Impaired?
Understanding what it means to be impaired comes in handy when you are in court. Generally, you are impaired if your ability to safely operate a motor vehicle is compromised. Impairment usually happens because of consuming alcohol, illegal drugs or prescription medications. As everyone reacts differently, the law sets measurable limits. You are considered to be impaired if a police officer tests your blood alcohol content to be above 0.08 percent.
What Are the Penalties in Texas?
In Texas, driving while intoxicated includes impairment from not just alcohol, but illicit and prescription drugs. If you find yourself facing a DWI, you might be wondering what penalties you are looking at. First-time offenders are charged a fine of up to $2,000. Depending on the severity of the situation, you may lose your license. A second offense will result in at least one month in jail. Although these may seem daunting, you can trust our team to help you in any way we can.
How We Can Help
If you are involved in a DWI situation, you may be overwhelmed and stressed. Having a good attorney can ease that burden. We can help give you the relief you’re looking for. Let us take care of your case. We always advocate to get you the best possible outcome.